From 158 applicants representing 28 countries. 20 of the world’s finest young violinist will be brought to New Zealand.


The semi-finalist competition order for Rounds I & II, drawn at random on 5 June 2015, is as follows:

01.   Yabing Tan, China
02.   Jung Min Choi, South Korea
03.   Ashley Park, USA
04.   Sanghee Ji, South Korea
05.   Christine Lim, South Korea
06.   Marie-Christine Klettner, Austria
07.   Mari Lee, South Korea / Japan
08.   Natsumi Tsuboi, Japan / USA
09.   Liya Petrova, Bulgaria

10.   Timothy Chooi, Canada
11.   Ania Filochowska, Poland
12.   Youjin Lee, South Korea
13.   Eunae Koh, South Korea
14.   I-Jung Huang, Taiwan
15.   YuEun Kim, South Korea
16.   Elly Suh, USA / South Korea
17.   Mimi Jung, USA
18.   Suyeon Kang, Australia

Learn more about our semi-finalists, ordered by last name:

Jung Min Choi, South Korea.Photo: Supplied.
Jung Min Choi (South Korea)

“She is a very musical, gifted and talented musician. Her accomplishments are many…Jung Min Choi is hard working and a fine player.” – Yumi Ninomiya Scott, Curtis Institute of Music


Musical Education
Curtis Institute of Music, Yewon Arts School

Principal Teachers
Joseph Silverstein, Yumi Scott

Finalist Stulberg International String Competition (2013); First Prize Ewha Kyung Hyang Competition (2006); First Prize Eumak Choonchoo Competition (2004)

Semi-final Round I

Bach: Grave  and Fuga  from Sonata No 2 in A minor

Paganini: Caprice 11 from Caprices Op 1

Tchaikovsky: Swan Lake Danse Russe

Tchaikovsky: Valse Sentimentale, Op 51, No 6

Semi-final Round II

Mozart: Allegro Aperto from Concerto No 5 in A major, KV 219

Brahms: Sonata No 3 in D minor, Op 108, movements 1 and 3

Kenneth Young: Gone

Saint-Saëns: Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso, Op 28

Semi-final Round III

Beethoven: Trio in C minor, Op 1, No 3

Final Round Repertoire

Tchaikovsky: Concerto in D major


TEXT JUNGMIN to 4368     TXT Voting Terms


Sponsored by Anonymous


1. Yasuka Morizono, Japan
2. Gi Yeon Yoon, South Korea
3. Francisco Garcia Fullana, Spain
4. Hwapyung Yoo, South Korea
5. Dongfang Ouyang, China

Development Prize Winners

Amalia Hall

Markiyan Melnychenko


1st Alternate
Yasuka Morizono (Japan)


Musical Education
Hochschule für Musik Würzburg

Principal Teachers
Herwig Zack

Fifth and Special Prize 31st International Violin Competition ‘Premio Rodolfo Lipizer’ (2012); First Prize 26th Kanagawa Music Competition (2010); Second Prize Kobe International Music Competition (2010)

Semi-final Round I
Bach: Adagio and Fuga from Sonata No 1 in G Minor
Paganini: Caprice 7 from Caprices Op 1
Tchaikovsky: Swan Lake Danse Russe
Liszt (arr Milstein): Consolation No 3

Semi-final Round II
Mozart: Allegro from Concerto No 4 in D major, KV 218
Prokofieff: Sonata No 1 in F minor, movements 1 and 2
Kenneth Young: Gone
Waxman: Carmen Fantasy

Semi-final Round III
Beethoven: Trio in E-flat major, Op 1, No 1

Final Round Repertoire
Bartók: Concerto No 2

Amalia Hall, NZ Development Winner
Amalia Hall
New Zealand Development Winner

“…an exceptional violinist with a wonderfully expressive musicality…her imaginative approach to music making has moved audiences.” – James Tennant, University of Waikato


Musical Education
Curtis Institute of Music

Principal Teachers
Pamela Frank, Joseph Silverstein

First Prize Leos Janacek International Violin Competition, Prague (2015), First Prize Postacchini International Violin Competition(2013); Second Prize Premio R. Lipizer International Violin Competition (2013), Sixth Prize Joseph Joachim International Violin Competition, Hannover (2015)

Sponsored by John Boscawen and Jane Dyke

Txt the unique code for your favourite competitor to 4368 to vote by txt.

You can only vote by txt once per day for your favourite competitor. Txt voting is available within NZ only on any NZ mobile network. Standard txt costs apply.


All 18 competitors are eligible to win the 2015 Michael Hill Audience Prize. Live and online audience members can vote for their favourite competitor, either by txt-message (NZ mobiles only), or through our website’s online voting form.

Voting opens at 9.00am NZT on 6 June 2015 and closes at 9.45pm NZT on 13 June 2015. The winner of the Michael Hill Audience Prize will be announced during the prize giving on 13 June.

Txt voting is available within NZ only on any NZ mobile network. Standard txt costs apply. You can cast up to one txt and/or online vote per day for your favourite competitor.

2017 Competition Online Voting Booth